It’s official!

Wowsa, it’s been a while since I blogged here! Hopefully you have been getting inspired meanwhile on my 2nd blog, Icon Vault!

I signed for my new place this Wednesday! WOOHOO!!! So it’s official, I’m an owner of my own condo now!! :D

It has a huge window in the living room/dining room, an office, a smaller size but efficient kitchen and a decent size bedroom, a shower AND bath (never took a bath in the last 20 years) and, OH YEAH (!!!!), a huge 14.5′ x 8′ balcony (well, for a city condo it’s large!) with a locker to keep my gardening stuff in it and the bike in winter.

I’ll be having the keys in less than 2 weeks, and then I’ll get the place ready (paint wall (I’ll probably get someone to do it, because every single wall and trim and ceiling has to be done since it’s all primer right now!), get in a few new raw material furniture pieces that I’ll stain and paint, and also get the new appliances in and connected (OMG I’ll finally have a dishwasher!!! Wanted one since I was washing dishes every weekend and summers for 3 years at a restaurant from age 16! lol)). Then, I’ll move in end of April!

I think I’ll do a before and after… Since it’s all not-even-white-white everywhere now, it’ll make a big difference. I wont renovate anything now since the place is like 2.5 years old (would love a back-splash and white cabinets eventually!), but color goes a long way! For now, I just want to make it my own with the least funds possible.

I love the very contemporary (think white & grey with popping colors, clean lines), but I also love the very rustic (think recycled barnwood, vintage rusted finds, wood), so hopefully I’ll be able to make that work together! This place really embodies what I like (except for the lack of popping colors), but of course my place wont look anything like the architecture of this one! I’ll have to make it work in other ways! I’ll keep ya posted!! :)

Hope you like the little inspiration selection of decor and objects I added here!

8 Comments

Filed under Decor - Object

8 responses to “It’s official!

  1. Congratulations, Janick! How exciting!

  2. I like several things in each pictures! My kids would love that swing.

  3. Congratulations to you. That is so exciting for you!!!! It was so neat to find an email from you. I had gotten so used to find an almost daily dose of beautiful pics and inspiration. But believe me, I understand wholehearted when ‘real life’ takes over. Good luck with your move and new home.
    Birgitte

  4. Congratulations! Having your own place to call home indefinitely is such a great feeling. My husband & I & my best friend & her partner purchased a duplex together last year & have been enjoying all the domestic projects that come along with it + our first vegetable beds this spring… Our place is 105 years old though so with its century old charm come little surprises every now & then :-) All very worth it so far! Best of luck finding your colors. I’m looking forward to pictures of your new place – I know they will be gorgeous!

  5. Congratulations girl!!!

  6. Congratulations!
    And don’t forget to share pictures of the place… the idea of a before / after is brilliant. Can’t wait!

  7. Congrats! I can’t wait to see the “after.”

  8. Pingback: track my last handmade purchase-wall wear from neawear : Madison Wisconsin Living

Leave a Reply

